Modi 3.0 Cabinet Portfolio Announcement: Who Retained, Who Dropped?

PM Modi and 71 ministers of the Narendra Modi-led NDA, were sworn in for the third consecutive term on Sunday, after the NDA government won 293 seats in the recent Lok Sabha elections.

It marked a significant reshuffle in the new cabinet. However key BJP leaders have retained their ministeries. Amit Shah has retained the Ministry of Home Affairs and Rajnath Singh has retained the Defence Ministry. Nirmala Sitharaman has retained the Ministry of Finance and S Jaishankar will continue the charge of leading the Ministry of External Affairs.

Nitin Gadkari has retained the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. J.P Nadda allocated the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare and Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilisers.

Pm Modi with BJP Leaders

Smriti Irani, Anurag Thakur, Narayan Rane and 37 Ministers have been dropped from the cabinet. Smriti Irani was allocated the ministeries in 2014 where she was HRD Minister and Textile Minister and in 2019, she was Women and Child Development Minsiter, however in 2024 General election she lost her seat to Congress leader Rahul Gandhi. In 2019, BJP leader Anurag Thakur held the ministry of I&B in Modi 2.0 and Narayan Rane held ministry of Micro,Small and Medium Enterprises.

Also read: Modi 3.0 Cabinet Sworn In, Promises Diverse Leadership (

However, Now with a coalition government key changes in the Portfolios have been made.

Here is the List of Ministry Portfolio
  • BJP's Piyush Goyal Retains the commerce Ministry
  • Annapurna Devi allocated the Ministry of Women and Child Development replacing Smriti Irani
  • Ministry of Railways has been given to Union Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw
  • Gajendra Singh Shekhawat has been apponted as Minister of Culture and Tourism.
  • Chirag Paswan to hold the Ministry of Food processing Industries
  • Kiren Rijiju has been allocated the Parliamentary Affairs
  • JD(U) MP Ram Nath Thakur appointed as Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
  • Jayant Chaudhary (Rashtriya Lok Dal), appointed as Minister of State (Independent Charge), he has been allocated the Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship and Minister of State in the Ministry of Education.
  • G Kishan Reddy has been appointed as the Minister of Coal and Minister of Mines.
  • Jual Oram, the BJP MP from Odisha, has been allocated the Ministry of Tribal Affairs.
  • Giriraj Singh has been appointed as the Minister of Textiles
  • TDP MP Ram Mohan Naidu Gets Civil Aviation Ministry
  • Ram Mohan Naidu from BJP's ally Telugu Desam Party, has been appointed the Civil Aviation Minister, replacing Jyotiraditya Scindia.
  • BJP's Jyotiraditya Scindia has been allocated the Telecom Ministry.
  • Former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, who took oath yesterday, has been appointed the new Agriculture Minister. 
  • Jitan Ram Manjhi from Hindustani Awam Morcha, an ally of the BJP, has been allocated the Ministry of Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises, replacing Narayan Rane.
  • Ashwini Vaishnaw has been appointed as the Minister of Information and Broadcasting, replacing Anurag Thakur.
  • Former Chief Minister of Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar, has been allocated the Power Ministry along with Housing and Urban Affairs. 
  • Shripad Yesso Naik has been appointed Minister of State, Power.
  • Tokhan Sahu has been appointed as MoS, Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs.
  • Ajay Tamta and Harsh Malhotra have been appointed as Ministers of State in the ministry.
  • Prahlad Joshi, former Minsiter of parliamentary Affairs gets three Portfolios, Consumer Affairs,Food and Public Distribution and Minister of New and renewable energy
  • Mansukh Mandaviya allocated the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports and Ministry of Labour and Employment


Ⓒ Copyright 2024. All Rights Reserved Powered by Vygr Media.