Paris Olympics 2024: Narang replaces Mary Kom as Chef-de-Mission; PV Sindhu, Sharath Kamal to be flag bearers

Gagan Narang, who won a bronze medal in shooting at the London Olympics, has been appointed as India's Chef-de-Mission for the Paris Olympics, replacing Mary Kom. During the opening ceremony, the female flag bearer for India will be the renowned badminton player PV Sindhu.

PV Sindhu and Sharath Kamal

PT Usha, the President of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA), explained that the 41-year-old Narang's promotion from deputy Chef-de-Mission was a logical decision following Mary Kom's resignation.

"I was looking for an Olympic medallist to lead our contingent, and my young colleague is an apt replacement for Mary Kom," PT Usha mentioned in a press release. Reports from PTI indicated that Narang was a strong candidate for the Chef-de-Mission role for the Indian team.

paris 2024 olympics

Mary Kom's Resignation

Mary Kom, a six-time world champion in boxing, stepped down from her role as Chef-de-Mission in April due to personal reasons. She had been appointed to the position by the IOA in March.

The Chef-de-Mission holds a significant administrative role, ensuring the well-being of the athletes, addressing their needs, and liaising with the organizing committee.

mary kom

PV Sindhu and Sharath Kamal to be Flag Bearers

The IOA has announced that PV Sindhu, the only Indian woman to win back-to-back Olympic medals, will be the female flag bearer for the Indian contingent during the opening ceremony on July 26. She will be joined by ace table tennis player Achanta Sharath Kamal.

"I am also delighted to announce that India's only woman to win two Olympic medals, PV Sindhu, as the female flag bearer alongside table tennis ace A Sharath Kamal in the opening ceremony," stated Usha.

While Kamal was selected as a flag bearer in March, the decision regarding the female athlete was postponed until now.

PV Sindhu and Sharath Kamal

IOC's Rule Change

In 2020, the International Olympic Committee (IOC) revised its rules to allow one female and one male athlete from each National Olympic Committee (NOC) to jointly carry the flag during the opening ceremony of the Summer Games.

At the Tokyo Olympics, India's flag bearers were Mary Kom and former hockey captain Manpreet Singh.

With inputs from agencies

Image Source: Multiple agencies

© Copyright 2024. All Rights Reserved Powered by Vygr Media.